A Real Novice - Charity Ride Help required....

GazzatheHaka
GazzatheHaka Posts: 10
edited May 2011 in Road beginners
Hi All,

I'm posting on here hoping to get some sound advise, I have just committed myself to the Coast to Coast Dublin - Galway over 2 days 268miles on August 4th. I have JUST ordered a bike within my budget Muddy Fox Blade road bike. This is my first bike in 10 years!!! I have a decent level of fitness through mainly running 30/40k a week road and or gym. I have committed to do this ride and would appreciate some help and direction on where to start - Including, gym, road rides how far weekly/ daily etc

I am flexible for eating plans , suppllements as I reckon I need to lose a stone - I know I need a lot!!!

And anything else anyone can advise....

Thanks

Comments

• minardi
    minardi Posts: 64
    I'm not very experienced but here's what I've learn't over the last few months after having my interest in cycling re-stoked after years of University and Bevvy malaise.

1. All you can do is ride - I've not found the gym much help expect for spinning classes which seem to help on the hills. But you really have to kill yourself

2. Eat lots - more than you think you need to on a long(ish) ride. I used to ride 60 and 70 milers on 4 bananas. Used to get tired at the end -last 10 miles. Solved this with peanut butter sandwiches, malt loaf, energy drink as well as bananas. Now feel fresh no matter how far I go. Drink lots of water too.

3. If your fit, start with 30 miles next weekend 40, then 50, then 60, 60, 70, 70, 80, 80, 100? They say 10% increase, but I think you can do more than that.

4. One of the most annoying things I get is shoulder and arm ache. This gets better with time though...
  • Rich Hcp
    Rich Hcp Posts: 1,355
    As above.

Work your way up to distance and then when you get to about 80 miles do about 50 on consecutive days.

You need to get used to being in the saddle for long periods.