Yet another pedal & road shoe reconmendation..

jonrwg
jonrwg Posts: 39
edited March 2011 in Road buying advice
I still need a little advice on my first clipless pedal and road shoe. After reading reviews of various source I filter my choice down to this three pedals:

1)Shimano PD-5700 105 SPD_SL
2) Shimano R540 SPD_SL
3) Look Keo Classic

I'm on a budget so I won't go above £60. I'll be using my bike mostly for club riding, sportive, etc and not for commuting so I guess SPD_SL pedal would be the better choice?

As for shoes, I read a lot of thread here that shoe are personal preference and needed to try it in store. Well, I did try:

1) Shimano R087 2011
2) Shimano R077 2011
3) Mavic Avenir 2011

All of them fit well with my leg but I still not sure which one to choose from. Read some reviews about them and seems to be at the same level? But there is one shoe that I can't find it at my LBS, DHB RC Carbon. I noticed that it was recommended by Cycling Plus magazine.

I'm still new to this so do teach me anything new I need to know. In learning mode now. :D

Thanks for any advice given here. :lol:

Comments

• rc856
    rc856 Posts: 1,144
    Have you had a look at Time?
    Lots of float etc.

Specialized shoes are great for my feet.
  • jlgt
    jlgt Posts: 21
    I use your option 3 in both cases (Look Keo Classics with Mavic Avenirs) and I like them a lot - the Avenirs are more comfortable than most other shoes I have worn, never mind cycling shoes; I found the lower end Shimano shoes nowhere near as comfortable when I tried them on, but it sounds like that's not a problem for you. Also, the Avenirs are pretty stiff and have some carbon in the sole (unlike the fibreglass/nylon Shimanos) if you are bothered about that sort of thing.