20mm maxle squeaking

Cymru-ali
Cymru-ali Posts: 7
edited March 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
HI guys, I have a kona bike with recon 20mm thru axle forks with a no name front hub. After i washed it, its developed a kind of squeaking noise. I am no expert at bikes and am only used to quick relase, I've only just realised how to get the maxle out :oops: any sugestions on a fix would be appreciated :)

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    sounds like the bearings need looking at/replacing.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • not another bearing again to be replaced :shock: the thing is i have only had the bike three months, and have only been doing light riding mostly the the local forest with a hosepipe down after each run . If the bearing are shot allready, it makes me think is it better just buying a new wheel :? after some research the hub seems to be a no name formula hub with cratrige bearings. Is there a way i can regrease them ? aparentlly you have to knock the bearings out :roll:
  • dan shard
    dan shard Posts: 722
    if theyre cartridge then they are sealed for life so its replacement only Im afraid. Take the wheel out and spin the wheel on the hub. you should be able to hear where the squeak is coming from. Normally id say a squeak is associated with the brakes, where as a bearing is more of a grind / knocking noise
  • cavegiant
    cavegiant Posts: 1,546
    Sorry Dan is a bit off there.
    Bike companies say the bearings are sealed for life, but they jut want to sell you new ones.

Most bike bearings are RS. on the side of the bearing there is a Rubber Seal.
    carefully pry that out with a penknife. Try not to damage it (it is impossible not to damage it, but the less damage the better).

for the full on job, you want to clear that grease out with plusgas (or if you are cheap WD40).

Now more the bearing by hand, is it smooth or grindy?