Specialized rockhopper comp 2011 problems

Asar01
Asar01 Posts: 51
edited January 2011 in MTB beginners
Before I ask my question(s) I would like to know if My £900 investment into a specialized rockhopper comp 2011 was worth it as I'm a complete newb

The bike was bought around 4 days ago and the chain has snapped already but I'm going to take it to back to evans for them to take a look At why it was snapped and maybe get a free replacement

Now to my first question, the front avid juicy 3 brake keeps jolting slightly when I attempt to brake, and the back brake keeps making a weird squeaking noise when braking, I was told I had to wear it in but the first 2 days I had it there wasn't a problem or noise at all.

Question 2. Sometimes my gears keep skipping when I'm putting allot of force into it, are bikes ment to do this?

The only size rockhopper they had was a 19inch and it was the one on shelf (where others take for a test ride) should I have waited 2 days for fresh bike? And is a 19" frame ok for a guy at 6"1 18 stone a good choice?

Thanks a bunch

Comments

• Asar01
    Last question guys

If I was to get a refund and add 200 more to 1100 would I beable to build a much betted bike?
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    No
    No, and they do make noises sometimes.
    Impossible to tell, but you should get a discount on a demo model.
    Maybe.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Your chain broke, thats unfortunate but completely understandable.... Sometimes they just do, I would not read anything into it. The size sounds fine, and if its only a car park tester I wouldn't worry too much about that.

The Avid however can be tempermental. I would suggest ride them for a couple more rides and post back as to how you get on.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • Rigga
    Rigga Posts: 939