Time trial pacing tips required

danowat
danowat Posts: 2,877
edited April 2011 in Amateur race
I am keen to improve on my TT times of last year, and I am hoping with a combination of training, and a sensible strategy, I want to be able to manage my goal.

I am very new to TT's, only been riding since last April, and only ridden five 10 mile TT's, with a PB of 26:20, and would like to go sub 25, and bigger distances in the future.

Its clear, from both post TT data, and during the actual event that, be it through inexperiance, exuberance, adreniline or something else that I go out way too hard, and suffer because of this.

I know that, ideally, you shouldn't need external aids, and should be able to ride of P.E. and feel (so everyone I know says!), but its hard for someone green to be able to do this, so I am wondering if it would be possible to setup my HRM, which has audible alerts, to warn me of over-exertion?, if this is possible, what sort of %Max would be appropriate for the different parts of the TT?, for example.......

The first 2 miles alert @ X %MHR, then X %MHR for another 2 miles, then go for it? or something along those lines.

Any feedback appreciated

Comments

• SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    Forget about HR, it takes too long for it to respond. I look at the data afterwards, but never during a TT, it is all done on PE, press as hard as I can on the pedals.

You should leave the start line very easy, some say like you are doing a paper round (though I used to ride my paper round as fast as possible as a kid).

Build up the effort over 0.5 to 1 mile, thats not to go really slowly for this distance, just don't push yourself too hard, or it will come back to bite you. Push on the downhill sections, and moderate effort on the uphill sections.

If you have done 20 min intervals on the turbo, you should know what sort of effort you can push