Bike Build - DIY?

lucan
lucan Posts: 339
edited January 2011 in Workshop
I had a GT Series 3 (Tiagra groupset) and last summer bought a Kuota Kebel frameset. As finances wouldn't permit a new groupset I had my LBS swap everything off the GT onto the new frame.

Now I have ordered a new 105 groupset wih the intention of putting that on the Kuota and rebuilding the GT as it was before.

If I have a go at doing this myself, are there any special tools I will need?

While I'm no mechanic, I want to learn to do all my maintenance myself and rely less on the LBS. Is it worth the effort, or should I stump up and keep my LBS in business.

Any thoughts and advice would be appreciated.
Summer: Kuota Kebel
Winter: GT Series3

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Buy the tools and be assured your bike will be more reliable in the future. Parktool.com is an excellent resource for 'how to' guides. Basic tools you need:

Set of Allen keys - 3,4,5,6,8 - T-handles with ball-ends are best
    Chain tool
    BB tool - depends on model of cranks
    Cable cutters
    Chainwhip and cassette lockring tool
    Greasegun
    Pedal spanner

You will need others, depending on frame/components e.g.
    Torque wrench & bits (for carbon frame and components)
    Cone nut wrenches
    Chainring bolt spanner
    Spoke wrench
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • darren H
    darren H Posts: 122
    Whilst collecting a good set of tools isn't cheap and for me has taken a few years. I was fed up with shoddy work from my lbshops.
    I decided tom have a go myself. Prob about 8 years ago.
    You just pick it up as you go really.

A torque wrench is a must.
    One of the most common mistakes people make is that they over tighten things on bikes.

A groupset isn't that hard to fit and I'm sure people will gladly advise on any issues on here.
    Bike shops are becoming very expensive nowadays.

I do all my own work now.