New member saying hello

shanerut123
shanerut123 Posts: 11
edited January 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

Today i decided i was going to get back into riding bikes, when i was at school 14 to 16 i used to go on constant rides on the roads for miles at a time, ussaly spent around 25 hours a week just riding around villages and stuff. As soon as i left school and went college i stopped (dont really no why i just did).

Im now 21 much heaver than i used to be :p, now decided (well been thinking about it for a while) i want to get back into riding, been looking and i want to get into mountain biking, i live in corby and was wondering if there are any clubs or groups which ride around my area? Cycling by my self is ok but in a group will motifate me more.

Im a student at DMU studying computer science been studying computers since i left school. I work at Asda Corby part time and do website programming work in my spare time as well.

I really just want to get out injoy the air and county sides, and i loved bikes when i was younger so why not do it whilst doing somthink i like :).

Also what bikes would people recommend i dont have alot of money, im a student :p. i want somthink which will get me started and i will upgrade it or get another bike as i progress.

Thanks, Shane

Comments

• BG2000
    BG2000 Posts: 517
    21 years old ? You're still really young ! Go to the average MTB race and half the field are in their 40's !

I don't live near Corby - I'm sure someone else here will reply with ride suggestions.

If you don't have much money, you could consider a 2nd hand MTB, making sure you get the best frame possible. Then you've got a good investment to build on in future should you need to upgrade parts. That way, you'll also learn about what the latest parts are, and how they're installed etc.. You'll find some amazing bargains on eBay - people aren't getting much money selling 2nd bikes - all the better for buyers !