im a larger cyclist ??

fat lad in lycra
fat lad in lycra Posts: 93
edited December 2010 in Road buying advice
im a fairly large bloke and considering buying a new road bike for summer use, im 6ft 4" and weigh over 20 stone, im of a muscular build.. :lol: , i have £500 to possibly £700 to buy a bike that would suit someone of my stature, this would be used mainly for rides on a sunday with friends and for commuting to work in the summer months, im new to cycling having bought a mountain bike for commuting to work and a cheap road bike which will now be used as a winter bike. can anyone suggest a few bikes that would be acceptable for my stature and budget,
many thanks
paul

Comments

• rc856
    rc856 Posts: 1,144
    Hello and welcome to the forum :)
    Try doing a search under 'weight' or similar because if I remember, there have been similar discussions recently.
    From my own experience of that kind of budget, you could look at somewhere like Ribble Cycles for starters.
    I think at your weight, it'll be a case of getting some sturdy wheels.

Good luck.
  • I started the year at 19+stone
    Now at 16.5
    Spesh Allez worked for me
  • arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    Hi there

Using weight as a search criteria brings up a load of threads on bike and component weight. Using "stone" for us old imperial dinosaurs brought up the following thread that you might find helpful.

http://www.bikeradar.com/forum/viewtopi ... ight=stone

The guy there was looking at a hybrid (Specialized Sirrus) and generally was being encouraged to go for it.

However if you want a drop bar option you could get the Sirrus then convert it later to a drop bar. Alternatively you could consider the Spesh Allez as suggested above. It has the same Alu frame as the Sirrus but is kitted out as a true road bike. For your budget you could just about squeeze an Allez Elite.

http://www.leisurewheels.co.uk/products ... 6903&rs=gb

But if not the the Allez 16 is a bit cheaper