Sportypal stealing my awesome.......

SamWise72
SamWise72 Posts: 453
edited August 2010 in Commuting chat
I have a Blackkberry with GPS, and I downloaded Sportypal to use when I don't need the Satnav (I'm a consultant, so I'm often using Satnav to get me places I've never been before). I mostly wanted it for distance and average speed, where it can't really fail, but the max speed bit is pissing me off. I used it a few times in London in my top pocket, and it would say my fastest was 23mph, which I foiund very dispiriting.

Last week, however, I used it on a long ride on my folder, and instead of having it in my top pocket, I put it in the cradle I use when using it for Satnav. Hammering down a hill, it reads 32 mph, which is bloody fast for that bike, and makes me question the speeds it gave me before. Get to destination, and low and behold, the graph shows a peak speed of 22.9! I guess it's actually dividing the ride into lumps, and that was my fastest average for 10% of the ride, but dammit, I went FASTER!

Does anyone know a free app that'll give me similar distance, average speed, and estimated calories info (perhaps taking better account of elevation) and also give me true "max speed* readings after a ride?
MiniLogo-1.jpg
http://www.velochocolate.co.uk Special Treats for Lifestyle Cyclists

From FCN from 8 (road bike, beard, bag, work clothes) to 15 (on my Brompton)

Comments

• Clever Pun
    Clever Pun Posts: 6,778
    I tried a free app but was utter garbage.... just stick to the cycle computer

I appreciate that doesn't really help. just read some reviews and spend a couple of quid?
    Purveyor of sonic doom

Very Hairy Roadie - FCN 4
    Fixed Pista- FCN 5
    Beared Bromptonite - FCN 14
  • SamWise72
    SamWise72 Posts: 453
    Trouble is, I currently alternate 5 different bikes for commuting; I'm about to add a Brompton, and as projects get finished, there are at least another 5 too. That's a lot of computers, and I hate all the wires.