New(ish) bike, back brake becoming noisy as hell!

Adam_DT3
Adam_DT3 Posts: 52
edited August 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Picked up a genesis core 30 a few months back but the rear disk break is becoming increasingly noisy, so noisy in fact I am using it to make pedestrians move out of the way on the cycle path lol.

Really need to look into fixing it tho, but a total novice when it comes to disk breaks. When I lightly pull the trigger i get what can only be described as a v high pitched squeek, followed by a very loud drone noise when I apply full breaks. The break works fine regardless and the front works fine with no noise too.

Is this a common issue someone could help me with? or is this something I need to get the bike serviced for?

From Evans site, I have the following;

Front Brake:
Shimano BR-M575 hydraulic discs
Rear Brake:
Shimano BR-M575 hydraulic discs
Brake Levers:
Shimano BL-M575

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/gen ... e-ec021331

Comments

• I would suspect brake pads have worn/been contaminated. Easiest way is to take them out and have a peek...
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    have read of http://www.bikeradar.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12674934

will give you some ideas.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • davildo
    davildo Posts: 162
    I had a very similar problem to this when I got my new bike.

I'm not sure whether the shop set it up wrong but the caliper was not centred properly on the disc.
    This caused the pad and disc to glaze, which just gets progressively worse and noisier.

Look at your pads very closely and how they line up to the disc. There should be a small gap each side but you should be able to see daylight. Then pull the lever looking VERY closely at the disc from above so that you can see whether it bends, even very slightly, when the pads squeeze in from each side tp grip it.