Gear changing

Shortarms
Shortarms Posts: 6
edited July 2010 in Road beginners
i am completely new to road bikes- so new that I rode my first one for about twenty minutes tonight, but in that time I managed to have the chain off twice.

I'm pretty certain it is something to do with me changing gears wrong.

I'm looking for any advice (nearing in mind I'm a complete novice) around changing effectively. Fir example should I be pedalling throughout the gear change? Do I have to go up through the gears on the bigger cog (don't know technical term) before switching to the smaller one and vice versa? The bike is inherited from a keen rider and he says it's working fine do it shouldn't be the bike, but I'm being impatient do thought I'd ask here rather than wait.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Buckled_Rims
    Buckled_Rims Posts: 1,648
    First off, what gears do you have? Make, model and number of gears all help because different sets have their own idiosyncrasies.

Also is the chain coming off from the front or the back?
    CAAD9
    Kona Jake the Snake
    Merlin Malt 4
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Keep pedalling but ease off on the pressure as you shift.
  • White Line
    White Line Posts: 887
    My winter bike often throws the chain off if I try to up shift too quickly. Ease off the pressure a bit, and push the lever - but don't do it as hard and as fast as you can.
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    Could it be you're crossing the chain i.e big ring at the front and back?
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • mattward1979
    mattward1979 Posts: 692
    Hard to say exactly what the problem is without knowing where the chain is coming off...

Is it slipping off of the front or back chainrings?
    And is it slipping off the rings closest to the frame or furthest away?