Sportive dilemma

squigs
squigs Posts: 149
edited July 2010 in Road beginners
Hi,
as a chef I find it very difficult to try and get the time off during the busy season to attend arranged sportives. Please bear in mind this is my first year of cycling seriously.

So using bike route toaster and uploading to my Garmin edge 705 I am doing my own routes of around 75 miles then eventually up to 110. My dilemma is that i live in Cornwall and it is very difficult to do a route that doesnt include lots of climbing straight away and for a longish amount of time.

Are sportive routes designed with a specific criteria to even out the hills and flats etc?

Ps London to Brighton felt like 20 miles with the training I did in Cornwall so there is an added benefit, Ditchling was a doddle.
Sirrus Comp 2010 (commuting)
Roubaix Pro SL Sram red (Weekend sportives)
Certini Campagnolo Mirage (Turbo trainer)

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Anywhere would feel like a doddle after riding in Cornwall!
  • Pross
    Pross Posts: 42,267
    Sportive routes are generally arranged to go up every hill they can possibly find so your riding in Cornwall is probably perfect!
  • andy_wrx
    andy_wrx Posts: 3,396
    British Cycling's requirements for a sportive organiser is that they include a hill early in the route, so as to break-up large groups who may set-off together - the reasoning being that a broken-up lot of one's & two's individual cyclists is less of a hazard on the road than a big posse of 50 tanking along at high speed.
  • Pross
    Pross Posts: 42,267
    andy_wrx wrote:
    British Cycling's requirements for a sportive organiser is that they include a hill early in the route, so as to break-up large groups who may set-off together - the reasoning being that a broken-up lot of one's & two's individual cyclists is less of a hazard on the road than a big posse of 50 tanking along at high speed.