FAO: GCSE students

whyamihere
whyamihere Posts: 7,702
edited June 2010 in The Crudcatcher
My sister's revising for hers at the moment, so I'm marking her practise papers for her. In the science papers, at least, I can give the following advice:

Read the questions, then read them again. Almost all of the answers are in the questions, if you know what you're looking for. A little bit of rudimentary knowledge and logic will get you the rest of the way.

Comments

• thekickingmule
    thekickingmule Posts: 7,957
    My advice: Lap up the GCSE's, A-Levels are the hardest exams you'll sit!
    It takes as much courage to have tried and failed as it does to have tried and succeeded.
    Join us on UK-MTB we won't bite, but bring cake!
    Blender Cube AMS Pro
  • MacAndCheese
    MacAndCheese Posts: 1,944

I agree, I did a reasonably hard degree, but nothing compares to A'level Maths or Physics....but then again I worked my aris off for my degree and did bugger all in sixth form.
    Santa Cruz Chameleon
    Orange Alpine 160
  • Tartanyak
    Tartanyak Posts: 1,538
    I agree - I did 'A' level maths and physics, then a maths based degree. The maths in the 'a' level was much harder.
  • whyamihere
    I'd agree with that actually as well. I'm doing a physics degree, and one of the first semester modules was skills, which basically taught us methods to make all of these horrible things we'd struggled with in A levels incredibly easy. Things like dimensional analysis which mean you essentially don't need to remember any formulae... If I'd known how to do all of that during my A levels, I'd have flown through them.
  • lawman
    lawman Posts: 6,868

hence why i took "easy" subjects, such as media studies, film studies and english :D

speaking of which i finished my A level exams yesterday :D
  • MacAndCheese
    MacAndCheese Posts: 1,944
    lawman wrote:

hence why i took "easy" subjects, such as media studies, film studies and english :D