Worth a Bleed?

Gilesw2010
Gilesw2010 Posts: 121
edited June 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi all - I just have a quick question about bleeding brakes. Hopefully you can help.

I bought a commencal Meta last month. Its a 2009 model fitted with Formula Oro K24's.

Now the power with the K24's isn't bad as such, but at the moment hardly mind blowing, as the reviews Ive read have suggested. As a comparison, the Formula RX's I have on my Cube are noticably better, as is the general lever feel.

On the commencal the levers don't exactly feel especially spongy, but certainly not as firm as the RX's. I definately have to squeeze the levers more to get to a similar level of power. I'm wondering if they could possibly benefit from a bleed? Although I bought the bike as 'new' its worth bearing in mind that given its model year it may well have been sat in a warehouse or on the shop floor for up to 18 months.

Do you think it would be worth getting them bled? I'm fairly new to this so I would be grateful of any help.

thanks in advance

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    get the pads bedded in first and make sure the rotor is not being moved by the pads.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Gilesw2010
    ah - now you may be onto something there Nick. Particularly in the rear brake one of the pads is definately closer to the rotor than the other. I have tried adjusting the caliper but the tolerances between pad and rotor are so small its almost impossible to get them centred perfectly.

could it be that theres to much fluid in the system and therefore the pistons cant retract enough?
  • Gilesw2010
    does anyone on here have experience with these brakes? I think I'm going to get them bled and see how that helps. They really aren't seeming to be that powerful at all. It's barely possible to lock the back wheel up at the moment.