Descending down hills

tippo
tippo Posts: 4
edited May 2010 in Road beginners
I am a 44 year old beginner to road cycling. Got knocked of bike 6 weeks ago! I have always lacked confidence going down hills. I seem to be afraid to let the bike, I keep using the brakes. I descend down the hills very slowly.
Can anybody give me advice on how to descend more efficiently. I am now very cautious after accident.

Comments

• Ollieda
    Ollieda Posts: 1,010
    If you can find a hill near you to practice on it will help, just go down the hill letting yourself go faster and faster each time. It's all about just building that confidence up more and more.

Reduce your speed for corners that need it before the corner so you're not pulling the brakes whilst trying to concentrate on turning.

Try to come out slightly into the road on corners to reduce the angle of the turn (obviously only do this if there's little or no traffic!) so you can take the corner smothly.

Keeping the outside pedal fully down in a corner and put more of your weight through it.

Check out some of the info on sheldon brown's site: http://www.sheldonbrown.com/brandt/descending.html

or have a look at what many say it's a superb example of a descent at speed by Cancellara: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxXqQqAc2pA
  • pbt150
    pbt150 Posts: 316
    First of all, there's no shame in descending slowly. Fastest I've ever been down a hill was ~42 mph, most of my mates have broken the 50 barrier.

I just try to look ahead as much as possible and pick my line nice and early, whilst keeping a look out for potholes or drain covers. I also find holding on to the top-tube with my knees makes the bike feel more planted on the road, with my feet at the 3 and 9 o'clock positions. I'm also more stable riding on the hoods.