First bike, low budget

ElCapitan
ElCapitan Posts: 11
edited May 2010 in MTB buying advice
Basically I am looking to buy my first bike, but as I am a student I only currently have a budget of around £200. I know that with bikes I'll get what I pay for and I intend on putting a bit more up for a better bike as soon as possible, but that might not be until around September.

I want it mainly to get outdoors more and lose some weight as I'm currently breaking the scales at nearly 17 stone, so I'll be using it on cycle paths etc, nothing too adventurous. Will I need to look for a particularly strong frame to support me or will a normal frame be fine as I'm not planning on thrashing it about?

I've looked around at bikes like the Giant Boulder, Saracen Tufftrax, Claud Butler Nevada etc but in all honesty if I choose myself, it may as well be a lucky dip.

If not for the fact I've recently moved into my own place for the first time, I'd gladly raise my budget, but at the moment it just isn't feasible.

I've tried looking around my local bike shop but they've moved and not updated their website and I'm new to the area so don't know where they've gone! Any help/links to suitable bikes is greatly appreciated as frankly, I'm lost.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Have a look at Decathlon: they do a bike called the rockrider 5.2 which is superb for the money.
  • unixnerd
    unixnerd Posts: 2,864
    You don't say where you are. Quite a few university towns have charities or projects to help students get used bikes for next to nothing. I know Aberdeen and Edinburgh do.
    http://www.strathspey.co.uk - Quality Binoculars at a Sensible Price.
    Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert 2012, Cannondale CAAD5,
    Marin Mount Vision (1997), Edinburgh Country tourer, 3 cats!
  • ElCapitan
    supersonic wrote:
    Have a look at Decathlon: they do a bike called the rockrider 5.2 which is superb for the money.