The tyre choice I'm going to go for (I think)

Oxygen Thief
Oxygen Thief Posts: 649
edited May 2010 in MTB buying advice
been reading the forums, reviews/auggestions and general tyre choice options on the net and I think I've come up with what I'm goign to go for. Basically looking for you to tell me whether it'll work for my needs etc? I am a noob ya see! :-)

I ride to work 5 times a week, 4miles e/w on roads. And then at weekend my bike will be used for XC and trails.

Right... On the front I was going to go with a Kenda Nevegal. Cheap, looks grippy so my fornt end don't wash on me at weekends. probably not the best for speed but can deal witht aht for 8miels per day?!

Back... A continental speedking??? Not so sure on this one? Was thinking it's grippy enough and will help on the road as not as grippy as a nevegal, plus drive through back wheel so this needs to be less grippy. On the trails I'm not as bothered about back sliding out?

Am I close to having a workable tyre selection?

Cheers

Comments

• peter413
    peter413 Posts: 5,120
    You have obviously thought about it but I would choose something completely different.

My choice would be a Minion on the front and a Holy Roller on the back.

IME the Minion rolls better than Nevegals and the Holy Rollers very fast rolling and surprisingly grippy.

An alternative to Holy Rollers are Small Block 8's

Or also think about a pair of Maxxis Ignitors, fast rolling but very grippy
  • I've also read alot of comments that say the Speed king wears quickly, so I'd imagine that 8 miles a day on tarmac will kill it in no time?
  • Just to add, couldn't you get a set of slicks for the week and some nice trail tyres for the weekends?
  • Oxygen Thief
    Cool, cheers guys. I'll have a look into those ones you have named. Bound to be better than my options. Was just trying to see if I'd got the theory behind it ok.

Cheers
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Try a Vertical Pro on the back.
  • Oxygen Thief