****Giant Anthem X3 v X4 (2010)***

ElvisPresley
ElvisPresley Posts: 37
edited April 2010 in MTB buying advice
Hello to all,

I'm a novice and looking at these two bikes. I was wondering if the X3 Is worth the extra £350. Would it cost more than £350 to upgrade the X4 to the spec of the X3? Or should i buy the X3 because its better specced for its price?

Also, if you could recommend another bike for under £1750 that can handle singletrack and the occassional trip to Glentress etc i'd greatly appreciate it!!!

ThankYouVeryMuch

Comments

• Spending £1750 as a novice seems a pretty big punt to me. How about spending that extra £350 on other kit that you will require such as shoes, helmet, jerseys, shorts, tools, lights, etc etc

In terms of the difference between the bikes, the only real bonus of the X3 is that its a bit lighter, but you'd be hard pushed to tell the difference. Personally though if you did want to spend X3 money on a bike only, I'd consider buying an X4 and then upgrading the wheelset with the difference. You'll end up with a bike lighter than the X3, and with the three crucial components all top spec - frame / fork / wheels

Just my 2p worth
  • starseven
    starseven Posts: 112
    Elvis
    buy the best you can afford straight out man, loving your work.
    SS
  • The Spiderman
    The Spiderman Posts: 5,625
    X3 gets the RP2 (platform settings) shock over the standard Fox Float,slightly better wheels,SLX chainset and shifters,XT rear mech and Elixir brakes.

The Elixir brakes are probably the most worthwhile upgrade,as the standard X4 Shimano brakes aren`t great.

All the other fundamanetals on the X4 are good though,so would probably suggest getting that,and upgrading bits as your abilities improve and parts wear out.

Then you can tailor the upgrades exactly as you want.

As suggested above investing in some good lightweight wheels is always a good place to start,but the standard ones will be fine for now.
    2006 Giant XTC