Suspension forks in the winter?

rchip
rchip Posts: 102
edited April 2010 in MTB general
Hey, I'm relatively new to mountain biking. I hear people talking about winter hacks etc, I seem to read that many use rigid forks in the winter. I've had problems with my rockshox recons and they're currently being serviced! So they dont go wrong again, I'm wondering if come the winter it is best for me to switch to a rigid fork on my kona kula!?

Comments

• stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    Rigid forks are a good idea if you dont like cleaning and maintenance and just like riding. However if your used to suspension it is a bit of a shock the first time you go for a ride offroad with a rigid fork be prepared to try and float over stuff you just rode through. You will find a lot of bumps you didnt know existed.
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    rchip wrote:
    Hey, I'm relatively new to mountain biking. I hear people talking about winter hacks etc, I seem to read that many use rigid forks in the winter. I've had problems with my rockshox recons and they're currently being serviced! So they dont go wrong again, I'm wondering if come the winter it is best for me to switch to a rigid fork on my kona kula!?

why?

what do you use the bike for?
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • rchip
    To be honest, I'm not sure if I need suspension forks for the riding that I do! 90% of my riding is just down the cheshire lines hah which looks like this http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2432/364 ... 8a2fd3.jpg as you can see, there's not many bumps!