Lubrication after rain?

a900ss
a900ss Posts: 91
edited April 2010 in Road beginners
Hi,

I'm a real newbie to Cycling starting just 7 weeks ago.

I was riding my new bike yesterday in absolutely filfthy conditions; raining like there was no tomorrow and mud on the roads washed from the fields.

Anyway, I got back home and hosed the bike down (hosed, not jetwashed) and I lubricated the chain. I just feel that I may be missing other items that need to be cleaned/lubricated after getting dirty and soaking wet.

Help appreciated.
2010 Specialized Rockhopper Comp
2010 Trek 1.5 Compact
Now to diet, get fit and lose at least 3 stone!!! (2 of the 3 stone now lost...)

weight.png
Diet started 1/1/2010

Comments

• themightyw
    themightyw Posts: 409
    Spray some degreaser on your chain and mech then wipe it off before re-lubing, otherwise you could just end up slapping clean oil on top of dirty. You can also pick up baby wipes half price in most supermarkets - they're great for giving a quick wipe down.
  • skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    Wipe the brakes over with some baby-wipes (especially the rear, if you don't have mudguards) & lube. Also wipe down the wheel rims & check no grit has embedded itself in the brake blocks (listen for a scratching noise) - remove wheel & pick out any grit with a point.

It may also be worth checking over the tyres for small cuts & embedded bits of glass/flint.
    Cycling weakly
  • speedy21
    speedy21 Posts: 153
    what do people mean when they say lube??? WD40??? a special bike lube?? are some things better than others to use
  • acidstrato
    acidstrato Posts: 945
    wd40 isn't a lube, if anything, spray it on before you apply a proper chain lube! which you can buy from any bike store, even halfords (if you dont mind being mugged)
    Crafted in Italy apparantly
  • speedy21
    speedy21 Posts: 153
    how often should i de-grease and apply lube,

(sorry for hijacking the thread but i think were in the same boat)