Looking for a road bike Specialized secteur?

pdennis30
pdennis30 Posts: 3
edited March 2010 in Road beginners
Hi I am new to biking I have a Specialized Rockhopper disc that I have been commuting on as well as doing some off road with, I am able to get a bike through the cycle to work scheme although it has to be through wheelies.co.uk.
I intend to do a London to Paris this year hopefully working up to some longer rides next year, I would need to fit a rack as I intend to carry my own gear and do the trips unsupported, but I would use the bike mainly with out the rack fitted, Can anyone suggest a bike , Looking at the Specialized secteur it looks as though it could be ideal ,can anyone confirm that I can fit a rack to it, Looking at the models in the range would be the best one for a beginner I dont really want to spend more than £800 but I am getting the best gear sets or should I spend that little bit more.
Any help would be gratefull.
Paul

Comments

• I would also like some advice on which type of pedals to get,as it seems all to confusing and there seems to be so many different types, I would like some clipless ones that would fit my mountain bike and road bike when I get it, it would save me from having to get 2 pairs of shoes?

Thanks again
  • hilza
    hilza Posts: 43
    I have the A1 Secteur, and was told in the shop it can take a rack easily.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I would like some clipless ones that would fit my mountain bike and road bike when I get it, it would save me from having to get 2 pairs of shoes?

Hello there, I also have a Secteur and a hybrid and, at one time, ran this combo on both:

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/shi ... s-ec005948

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/spe ... e-ec019810

I now have flat pedals on the hybrid but only for convenience (and I often swap back).