Day off tomorrow - ideas for rides in the South?

squirejim
squirejim Posts: 44
edited February 2010 in Road beginners
hi all - ive been cycling for last 6 months - not literally - but commuting 14 - 20 miles round trip daily. the longest ride ive done at a weekend is 30 miles. im looking to up that tomorrow and maybe do a 50 miler - i live near croydon , but looking to get on a trian and either find a spot a good distance away and then cycle homne or go for a loop in te countryside, reasonably close by - looking for somewhere south . anyone any ideas?

thanks in advance for help.

Cheers
mark

Comments

• do a search on mapmyride.com or similar site. You could get the train to Ashford and cycle home - about 55ish
    Burning Fat Not Rubber

Scott CR1
    Genesis IO ID
    Moda Canon
  • bobtbuilder
    bobtbuilder Posts: 1,537
    edited February 2010
    The Surrey hills are all you need. Either start from home, or hop on the train down to Redhill. Then you have Box Hill, Leith Hill, Winterfold Lane, Whitedowns and Ranmore Common for hills, and lots of quiet lanes for riding.

Jump on to googlemaps and look for two small villages called Peaslake & Holmbury St. Mary. The countryside round there is fab. :D
  • Have a look at the route for the 2010 Circuit of Kent Sportive. If it was me, I'd get a train to West Malling and then follow the route (80km) back to the station. Job done. Just an idea though.
    http://www.kentcyclosportive.co.uk/route.htm
    Limited Edition Boardman Team Carbon No. 448
    Boardman MTB Team