SPD question - all the cons and none of the pros?

monkeylizard
monkeylizard Posts: 155
edited February 2010 in MTB beginners
I know there are lots of SPD threads already but I searched and couldn't find anything specific so apologies if this has been raised before.

First time out using SPDs today, and I was a bit disappointed. I fell off a few times, but that's fine as it's what I expected - no big deal. I felt a bit 'restricted' but I guess this is something I'll get over as I get used to them.

The big 'let down' was that I was assuming that climbing would be (a lot) easier. As an unfit noob, I was hoping for the effect to be something like fitting a turbo, but if anything going uphill was more difficult than normal.

Is this par for the course when first using them? Am I doing something wrong? Or am I just being a wuss? :)

Comments

• CraigXXL
    CraigXXL Posts: 1,852
    Probably your technique that needs adjusting as you are now able to push on one pedal whilst pulling on the other using SPD's. The muscles at the rear of your leg will also need to develop with this style of pedaling.
  • Its just a case of getting use to them. For practice clippin in and out go between a door frame in doors, in terms of making life easier, eventually they will but you need to practice as its a different style. You should be pushing and pulling on the pedal creating more power through the bike.
  • I felt the same when first started to use but you just need to adjust your riding style i.e. keep feet flat on pedal. Clipping in and out gets easier the more worn cleat gets so does get better with use. I would say after a week 2 weeks maximum you will notice the difference.
    So Far!
  • scars
    scars Posts: 360
    Give it time buddy, you have to think the entire mechanics of your pedaling style are forced to change, foot placement etc...