Newbie needs urgent advice: Can i cause damage???

loxster71
loxster71 Posts: 269
edited January 2010 in Road beginners
Hi All,
Firstly let me start by explaining i am a total newbie when it comes to bikes and i have just got my first "PROPER" Road bike...Boardman ltd edition carbon! :D:D:D

I've just fitted a set of spd pedals on and sorted cleat positioning etc and realised my seat needed altering ( slightly raising) due to the difference in thickness between my trainers and spd shoes, I undid the 2, 4mm bolts on the post clamp and raised the seat to a height i thought would be fine ( good guess..it was spot on lol) but this is where advice is needed urgently!
I re-tightened the bolts without thinking and gave them a good nipping up then it suddenly hit me...CAN I OVERTIGHTEN THEM AND CAUSE DAMAGE TO THE CARBON FRAME????

All constructive advice is welcome. please bear in mind my tool collection is embarrisingly sparse ( set of Allen keys and a adjustable spanner lol).

Thanks Loxster71
Giant Trance X3
Boardman Limited Edition Carbon #344
BMC Streetfire ssx( converted to flat bar Hybrid)

Comments

• Wheelspinner
    Wheelspinner Posts: 6,562
    Yep, you can damage carbon frames by over-tightening clamp bolts on the seat post. The (normal) torque required to correctly tighten seat clamps on carbon frames is surprisingly low, around 5 Nm is typical. You can do that easy with a standard Allen key with 2 fingers.

Any more and you can possibly crush the seat tube, particularly if you are also using a carbon seatpost?

Get to your LBS and ask them to check it with a torque wrench. If you've got the position right, once it's done wrap a strip of electrical tape round the post to mark the height. That was you can replace it next time to the same spot.

ALSO, note that seatposts in carbon frames should be removed, cleaned and replaced about every six months maximum, more if you ride in bad weather. Otherwise they can seize up and be impossible to get out.