Complete novice here, just bought a bike

AntonDonJuan
AntonDonJuan Posts: 7
edited December 2009 in MTB beginners
First post, and i haven't got a clue about mountain biking etc

I've just bought a bike to get me started, a carrera vengeance disc ltd, got it from Halfords in the sale for £299.99. Not got a clue if it's any good etc :oops:

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165499

Can anyone please let me know if the bike is any good, if you've even heard of it and how to start off easy on it! It looks quite nice which is a start!

Thanks

:)

Comments

• llamafarmer
    llamafarmer Posts: 1,893
    :lol: A bit late to ask now!

You've made a great choice for £300 mate, I don't think it was ever worth £530, but that's typical Halfords. Where do you live? You just need to get out and ride now :D
  • I know, well it's not technically bought but it's on reserve and collect! To be honest i don't understand the technical spec side of it, it just looked like it had some good parts to it and disc brakes and looked a good starter to get!

I like in Ashton-under-Lyne in tthe Tameside area, there's not many routes that i know of round here so i'll have to do some searching i think!
  • The bike will get you going and for that amount its got stuff that works. Thats the only bit that matters for now.

For routes around your area look at bikehike.co.uk , course creator then search routes in the bottom. There are a few near you and also other sites that do the same thing
    fly like a mouse, run like a cushion be the small bookcase!
  • It's got stuff that works, thats's the only bit that matters....that doesn't sound very promising haha.

I'll check that out mate thanks for that. I just wanted to know if i was getting a good deal/bike and a couple of routes :)

I can't wait to get out on it, i pick it up on Sunday :D
  • gaz047
    gaz047 Posts: 601