Does full suss lead to poor skills?

124»

Comments

• Yeh best to ride a hardtail for a few years of proper mtb to get used to how the bike reacts underneath you. the longer you do that for the better a rider you become. i started riding full-suss after 10 years of riding hardtail (and that was on some pretty harsh trails!!)
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Yeh best to ride a hardtail for a few years of proper mtb to get used to how the bike reacts underneath you. the longer you do that for the better a rider you become. i started riding full-suss after 10 years of riding hardtail (and that was on some pretty harsh trails!!)
    Give it a rest. If someone's first bike is a hardtail, great. If someone's first bike is a full suss, great. It's crap that "everyone should start on a hardtail", complete bollorkcs.
    Start (and stick to) whatever YOU prefer, whether that's boingy or rattly.
  • Jedi
    Jedi Posts: 827
    its totally irellevent what bike you ride.
    skilld and techniques are what make the difference. susp[ension allows a degree of comfort and get out of jail free ness
  • Jedi wrote:
    skilld and techniques are what make the difference. susp[ension allows a degree of comfort and get out of jail free ness

And you learn from your mistakes, If the bike is letting you get away with errors, you're less likely to learn from them.
  • Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675
    edited December 2009
    Jedi wrote:

Buuuut, it's that "get out of jail free" card that can mean you can ride the same thing with less skill/finesse. Note, CAN, not will.