West End!

MountainPete
MountainPete Posts: 418
edited November 2009 in The Crudcatcher
Hi all,

I'm thinking original Christmas present idea for girlfriend here. The plan I've got in my mind is I'll take her to London so see a show on the West End, have an evening meal, and generally have a bit of a sightseeing sesh in London (Harrods etc.).

I am no expert in shows by any means, so thought I'd ask here to see if anyone know of a good (and suitable) show to go and see! Nothing too sad or soppy mind...

I look forward to reading your sensible suggestions!!! :-)

Comments

• witch?
  • As it happens, I was at our London office last week which is almost directly opposite the Palladium on Argyle street.

I noticed they are showing Sister Act at the moment, which is supposed to be pretty good. Right next to carnaby street and Oxford St for shopping and stuff too.

They usually put me up at The Langham on regent Street which is a pretty swanky place. Nice food, and within easy walking distance of The Palladium, (5 mins tops). It is NOT cheap though. I got a bottle of beer from the bar downstairs and it cost the best part of a tenner, luckily though, work pays for it all, so I had a couple more :D .

Most of the hotels in that area have offers on so you book a couple of nights and they sort out show tickets and stuff for you.
  • Or any of these at other theatres

The 39 Steps
    Blood Brothers
    Avenue Q
    Chicago
    Woman in Black
    We Will Rock You

Mrs CWNT knows not to expect any such extravagance from me though, so I can't say if any of them are any good.
  • Blood Brothers is a great little show if you want singing and dancing, but not the happiest of shows (plus you'll have to put up with liverpudlian accents for a couple of hours ;)

Avenue Q will have you both in stitches if you both have an odd sense of humour like this
    It takes as much courage to have tried and failed as it does to have tried and succeeded.