Hi - advice needed.

Talentedfaller
Talentedfaller Posts: 4
edited November 2009 in Road beginners
Hi,

I'm completely new to cycling and come from a running background. My partner is a seasoned cylcist as is his cycling buddies.

I have to say, I'm quite nervous on the bike and I've not yet managed to master second guessing sudden movements of others in front which resulted in me coming off (again) this morning. I don't feel very 'supported' at the moment and I'm a bit fed up of feeling like a complete idiot. I'm seriously thinking of just going out alone until I'm more confident on the bike which may sound bizarre as some may say that you shouldn't go out alone if you're not confidednt.

Any thoughts...?

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Hi! Welcome to the forum!

The best thing for you in my opinion is just to get out and ride as much as you can, whether with friends or on your own, you'll soon build confidence.

Hope the fall didn't hurt too much!
  • Thanks for the encouragement. I'll jump back on just as soon as my bike is fixed :lol:
  • skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    Possibly try going out for a ride with just your partner, rather than a group? Also maybe suggest you lead (in a safe area) so that your partner can keep an eye on you from behind?
    Cycling weakly
  • Hi I'm new to cycling too, and not brave enough to join my partner and his friends yet.
    I enjoy riding with my boyfriend and my confidence as improved since doing smal rides with him and commuting by myself.

The reason i don't go out with his friends is because of my pace compared to theres i wouldn't want to slow them down.

All i would suggest is find a short route you can do alone, and try to just ride with your partner for a while before going to a large group ride
    “If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there.” Lewis Carrol

'Feel the fear, then do it anyway'

'tomorrow, tomorrow tomorrow never comes, today is already here'