single best upgrade

gergusmcbergus
gergusmcbergus Posts: 57
edited November 2009 in Road beginners
Hi I am still quite new to cycling so I aplogise for what may seem like an obvious question to some.
I ride a Spcialized allez double 09 and love it.
I haven't yet purchased any upgrades for the bike, the only thing I have brought for it other than lights and bottle cage is Look Keo clip in pedals, which will arive in the next few days.
Other than that the bike is as purchased.
What would you say is the single biggest upgade I could make to my bike for a faster, more efficient ride
Thanks
like a rolling stone

Comments

• brownbosh
    brownbosh Posts: 602
    Decent tyres and tubes.
    Or if you have £150 or more a wheel upgrade.
  • Thanks
    Currently ride on Alexrims wheels and Specialized Mondo tyres which came with the bike
    Are these any good?
    like a rolling stone
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    no

the whole rolley bit is the best place to start, wheels, tyres and tubes. A nice set of handbuilts are the way forward on an allez.
  • Without wishng to sound completely stupid, could you give me more infrmation on handbuilts?
    How much of a differece would I see with a new, better quality wheels tyres and tubes?
    like a rolling stone
  • MikeWW
    MikeWW Posts: 723
    Don't do it unless you have money to burn
    Is the saddle comfortable-if not replace it
    Other than that just ride(fast) and often

The only thing that will make any noticeable difference is your fitness

Bling wheels look great and by all means replace the tyres with say Michelin Pro3's when you have worn them out
  • dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601
    FWIW "BUYING" things(i.e. upgrades) is very highly overrated. In basic terms YOU