upgrading forks on Carrera Subway 2

kqphoto
kqphoto Posts: 3
edited October 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi all,

I'm a complete MTB novice but have been given a two-year old Carrera Subway 2 in excellent condition, but was wondering for occasional trail riding could I change the rigid front fork for a suspension type.

Has anybody any idea if this is possible, and as I have not been able to get any web info on the technical specs of the headset itself could you supply me with diameters etc of what I need to be looking at.

I won't be using it for serious off road stuff, but it would be nice to be able to tackle the occasional forest path in a little more comfort.

Thanks for all the help.

K

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Yes, it can be done: but it would have to be a short travel fork (ie 80mm).

If you have a standard threadles steerer it should be an easy swap.

Not sure if the bike has V brakes, but if it does, check it has V mounts.
  • Something like basic SR Suntour XCR fork would be a good choice, or a Rock Shox Dart 3, they have V-Brake lugs aswell.
  • Hi Supersonic,

Thanks for that, it has mechanical disc's all round, which I might also change at some stage to hydraulic, and may also change the double chainset to a triple.

For now the forks are the only thing I'll look at.

Thanks again

K
  • diy
    diy Posts: 6,473
    It depends what you budget is, but you should be able to get something on ebay..

If you want something really entry level.. say for a £5er, I have a set of In-Sync Grind 323, they are 70mm travel and a 1 1/8 headset. As featured on Marin and Trek bikes circa 03-06 Both V brake and IS disc brake mounts. They are entry level suspension forks.

last time I will mention them outside classified. ;)
  • Buckled_Rims
    Buckled_Rims Posts: 1,648
    If you're doing it yourself the 2 problems you'll face are: