How hard to get ave up by a few mph?

solstice21
solstice21 Posts: 321
edited September 2009 in Road beginners
Got the bug this year and been goin out casually but sometimes looking at the speedo numbers and trying to impress myself. Got back this evening after doing about 20m and averaged 19.8 mph (this was on a road I've never done before and at 1 point hit >40mph which is my new record :D ). To get this average I pushed myself pretty hard. Next year I want to do plenty of local 10m TT's. The ave. top times for the main course are around 23 min. I reckon I'd come in at around 30 min (and breathing out my ar*e). So how how hard is it gonna be to shave that time down (without completely giving up my weekend lifestyle - Beer, few roll-ups, junk food)????

Cheers

Comments

• I reckon you'd be able to do a sub 30min TT already. 19.8MPH for an hour is good and I'm guessing it had some bumps seeing as you were able to hit 40MPH.

I did my first 10TT this year and did it in 27:05 but I have still never averaged 20mph for an hour yet, my best being 19.2 (although still haven't found a flat 20 mile route yet).

Rich.
  • Flasheart
    Flasheart Posts: 1,278
    Knocking the smoking on the head for starters if you're serious would be my advice
    The universal aptitude for ineptitude makes any human accomplishment an incredible miracle. ...Stapp’s Ironical Paradox Law
    FCN3
    http://img87.yfrog.com/img87/336/mycubeb.jpg
    http://lonelymiddlesomethingguy.blogspot.com/
  • inseine
    inseine Posts: 5,788
    If your averaging Nearly 20mph then sub 30mins is a given, especially if your hour ride includes a proper warm up and cool down. You'd be better concentrating on some shorter efforts of, say, 5 mins at closer your max. Your average may go down but you'll ride better races.
  • Flasheart wrote:
    Knocking the smoking on the head for starters if you're serious would be my advice

..+1
    you gotta give up the baccy...pronto...
  • Sol.