need help buying a bike please

chuckbiker
chuckbiker Posts: 18
edited August 2009 in MTB beginners
hi guys/gals im fairly new to this whole site as ive just recently started to get into bikes. i know a adequate amount about them and fixing and maintaing and all that, but, ive recently decided to go for a new bike and im stuck on what to get, my maximum amount to spend is around the £300 mark. so, i was wondering wether there are any mountain bikes that you could recomend, prefferably a hardtail mountain bike. id be using it as a bike for taking me everywhere such as roads, dirt tracks and hills (uphills, downhills, round hills :wink::lol: and pretty much anywhere i see) so i was just wandering if could you lot help me out,

thanks for your time

charlie
when your at school every thing goes wrong and it goes wrong in the wrongest way and even more wrong when everyones looking, when you leave school everything still goes wrong, but with loads more style! :lol:

Comments

• nwmlarge
    nwmlarge Posts: 778
    first thing i would suggest is having a good search through the forum there are loads of topics similar to this
    i found quite a lot of info tucked away
  • chuckbiker
    i think im going to get a mongoose tyax elite, but still not sure. thanks for the quick reply by the way :)
    when your at school every thing goes wrong and it goes wrong in the wrongest way and even more wrong when everyones looking, when you leave school everything still goes wrong, but with loads more style! :lol:
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Can you try one out?

Also look at the What Hardtail thread in the buying section.
  • Helen-mtb
    Helen-mtb Posts: 112
    same as supersonic... can you not take a bike out for a day? i know my LBS lets people take out bikes for about 4 hours, if you leave them like, a card/wallet or something? It changed my mind from a Gary Fisher to a Specialized... i didn't know till i rode it properly
  • chuckbiker