Numb Hands

kirkjr13
kirkjr13 Posts: 22
edited July 2009 in Road beginners
Hi All,

Probable an SFQ, but what can I do to stop my hands going numb when i ride? I'm new to road riding and have done a selection of rides from 20-30 miles now, each time I get a very numb left hand which I need to take off the bar and shake to wake it..

I wear padded gloves and have replaced the grip tape on my bars but still have this problem. Any suggestions would be welcomed.

Comments

• Garz
    Garz Posts: 1,155
    Don't grip too tight and make sure your wrists aren't bent up too much, if this doesnt help then its probably a positional matter of the seat/bars.
  • Wappygixer
    Wappygixer Posts: 1,396
    For comfort some people double wrap the bar tape on the top of the bars for extra cussioning
  • soveda
    soveda Posts: 306
    I've just put some gel pads under the tape for this reason, first ride impressions:
    It's taken the major part of the "buzz" off and I feel more fresh in my arms than before but that might be the "shiny" effect of having something new on the bike (like the placebo effect but for toys).
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    If you need gel inserts or a double wrap of bar tape for a 20-30 mile ride then there's something up with your bike set-up.
    More problems but still living....
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    I bet your front tyre is pumped up too hard.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • kirkjr13
    What tyre pressure should i be using??
  • bobpzero
    bobpzero Posts: 1,431
    edited July 2009
    90 psi ? specialized bar phat tape or fizik gel pads are useful & seeing ive had the spesh bar phat tape on my handlebars for several months of riding, so theres no placebo effect in having a bit of gel padding underneath the handlebar tape. even to the point of not needing padded mitts.
  • kirkjr13
    I'll check my pressures then and see if that helps, think i am probably running a little higher than that.