105 STI levers, broken?

cooper.michael1
cooper.michael1 Posts: 1,787
edited June 2009 in Workshop
Hey!

Front 10sp 105 STI lever on the way to work today, suddenly stops indexing...it no longer clicks, almost like the ratchet mechanism is broken. Ive just had a look now and there is defiately no real click at all...under no cable tesion it does pull the cable a little bit and locks in place, but not how it should

Terminal case do people think? They are only 6 weeks old, so under waranty...but for something costing £200 it is a big dissapointment, not to mention relegating me to the MTB until i get a replacement!

Comments

• justresting
    justresting Posts: 292
    I think if you search the site you'll find there have been reports of some probs with 10 speed left hand lever on 105 s. I have been using one for 3 months now & up to press have had no problem. TOUCHES SOME WOOD !!!!!!
    ' From the sharks in the penthouse,
    to the rats in the basement,
    its not that far '
  • k-dog
    k-dog Posts: 1,652
    Yeah, happened to me the day after I got my new bike. Replaced under warranty and it's been perfect since.
    I'm left handed, if that matters.
  • nferrar
    nferrar Posts: 2,511
    Yeah had problems with mine to, a crash meant I needed to replace them and got Ultegra instead and not had an issue since.
  • peanut1978
    peanut1978 Posts: 1,031
    should be able to pick one up cheap on ebay

no problems here (touch wood) in last 7 months and 3000 miles
  • JC.152
    JC.152 Posts: 645
    mine did that last year at cat and fiddle but that turned out to be a little bit of cable stuck in the shifter(cheers to Rourkes lendin me duraace rourke 8) )
  • Sparklehorse
    Sparklehorse Posts: 126
    yep - it's a fault I'm afraid. The ratchet went in my l/h front 105 shifter after about 5 months.
  • El Gordo
    El Gordo Posts: 394
    I was all set to get a pair of 105 shifters until I started seeing these reports popping up.