Which carbon road bike has a triple?

Mothyman
Mothyman Posts: 655
edited June 2009 in Road beginners
I am new to road biking but I want to buy a carbon bike with a triple - for the hilly areas around here. Most triples seem to be in the cheaper bikes but I have 1700 to spend (lucky me). My friend had the Trek 1.9 triple but I wanted a carbon one if poss.
Also I prefer comfort over aggression - until I loose some blubber !
Which bikes would suit me?
Should I ask the LBS to convert a double for me - all within my budget?
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Why not but a custom bike like a ribble sportive?

You can build one up with Ultegra triple and Ultegra/Open Pro wheels for a lot less than this and it would be absolutely excellent!
  • Mothyman
    its an idea Napoleon, but I am too beginner-ish for a self build...my old MGBGT in the garage (not driven in 5 yrs) is proof of that.
    but I'll save your reply for 2020.
    cheers
  • fto-si
    fto-si Posts: 402
    Mothyman wrote:
    its an idea Napoleon, but I am too beginner-ish for a self build...my old MGBGT in the garage (not driven in 5 yrs) is proof of that.
    but I'll save your reply for 2020.
    cheers

I think Napoleon is suggesting that you select the components and Ribble build it for you.
    exercise.png
  • Mothyman
    oh..thanks fto-si and Napoleon.
    showing my ignorance - i will checkout Ribble.
  • merlinghnd
    merlinghnd Posts: 106
    Focus Cayo 105 is also available in a triple. I have one, my first road bike, wanted to be sure I could get up hills and very happy with it.
  • Anonymous
    You select the Ribble Sportive bike, then where you see the groupset click 'change' and choose the Ultegra Triple.
    Obviously you can choose all the other bits like wheels and bars and stuff.

They build it for you.
  • Mothyman