Sustainable weekly distance???

hungovermatt
hungovermatt Posts: 5
edited May 2009 in Road beginners
Whilst I'm not new to cycling I am a complete beginner when it comes to road riding, so I'm after some advice.

I'm looking to save on my commute to work whilst obtaining/maintaining a decent degree of fitness. My commute is 25 miles each way.

Is this doable every day (250 miles a week)? If not what is doable, 200 miles, 150???
Can I maintain an average speed of 12.5mph including junctions etc, bearing in mind I'll be travelling into/out of central London at rush hour? Don't really want it to take longer than 2 hours each way...

Any suggestions/observations would be gratefully received.

Cheers

Comments

• Infamous
    Infamous Posts: 1,130
    Try it and see? Build up gradually, one week do it on 2 of the days, then next week do it 3 times etc.
  • Trouble is I don't have a road bike at the moment and don't want to buy one and then realise I can't do it and have to pay for train journeys too.

I aim to spend on a road bike (incliding all equipment, spares and servicing) what I will save on not buying my annual season ticket, thus the cost of getting to work will be the same in the first year then considerably cheaper in all subsequent years, until I need a new bike etc.
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    Plenty of serviceable, good quality bikes sold every day on Ebay for less than a hundred quid - why would you need to spend more? (Want to spend more is an entirely different thing!) Buy one for £70, try it for a few weeks and if you don't get on with the bike commute, sell it for £70. Net cost = zero. If you do get on with it, but want a more posy bike, sell the old one for £70 and buy something flash.