Gearing for Ventoux?

I'm attempting three climb of Ventoux in a day, my lowest gear is 26/39 - don't really want to change to a compact at the front, but I have a feeling this is too big a gear and I may need to spin a little more than grind.

Suggestions and advice welcome?

Comments

• gavintc
    gavintc Posts: 3,009
    I have a compact 34-50 and fitted a 12-27 cassette. I tried to keep 2 gears in reserve, just in case it got really steep. I managed it in 34-23, but it was not easy. My times were 1hr50 and then 1hr42 the following year. Gearing is really dependent on the strength of your legs and fitness. Good luck
  • dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601
    While I have zero experience on Ventoux, I do know that it's a monster and I do have some experience climbing big mountains. A friend of mine did the 7 days Bike Tour of Colorado with a 39-26 the first year he tried it. He was not a happy camper and the next year he had a new bike and a triple. Much better. That said, well, what you propose can more than likely be done and I'm sure you'll get a few posts saying "hey, no problem".
    However, even if Ventoux is not all that steep(and I don't know that) I do know that you're in for a boat load of long climbing and at the very least a few really steep sections.
    Having extra gears is just plain smart and more than likely you will use them. I don't know how else to say it. Take all the gearing you've got(so to speak). You won't regret it.
    I've gone to a compact 33-25 or 27 for the big ones. Use them all at some time or another.

Dennis Noward
  • dodgy
    dodgy Posts: 2,890
    I've never ridden it, but riding it in my armchair by using Wikipedia I can see that it has an average gradient of either 7.43% rising to 8.9% for the final 16KM or only 4.4% from the East which is apparently the easiest direction to tackle it from.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mt._Ventoux