Radial truing

N4PALM
N4PALM Posts: 240
edited April 2009 in Workshop
I have a set of Shimano RS10 wheels, the bane of my life.

I have a problem with the rear, theres no reason for them to be as out of whack as much as they are. The only thing I can think is maybe they got wrecked by a pothole or something.

The rear gradually got more and more out of true til I took them to be re-trued at the LBS. They did the work and gave it back to me saying "Thats as good as they'll get with the low spoke count and all". They were still radially out of true and a very slight side wobble. I've also recently noticed one of the spokes is slightly bent. I wasnt impressed.

After riding a few more miles it started going out again. Yesterday I noticed it was quite bad so I figured I'd have a bash myself. I slackend all the spokes off and began to retension and retrue from scratch. I've never done this before and had to do it with an adjustable spanner (silly 4mm nipples) and brake blocks.

Anyway I got it virtually perfectly in true laterally but still cant get it radially in true. Theres a hell of a bump in it that just wont budge. So now I'm wondering if the rim is just b0rked, if both myself and my LBS are useless at wheel truing or if these dumb low spoke count wheels are worth their weight?

Comments

• synchronicity
    synchronicity Posts: 1,415
    Generally when I true rims, I aim for laterally true + even spoke tension.

That gives you consistent braking and a stronger wheel than if you were to aim for laterally + radially true.

keep in mind that it's IMPOSSIBLE to get all three right. Most people don't even notice a wheel that is out of true a few mm radially...
  • N4PALM
    Thats interesting, I'm a perfectionist at times and so naturally I was expecting perfection to be achieveable. Having said that I dont really notice the wheel being radially out.