Newbie question.. Pumping air forks...

JxL
JxL Posts: 383
edited April 2009 in MTB workshop & tech
Finally got some air forks, which really needed more pressure. Received my Rockshox 300psi pump and positive measured at 70psi and negative at around 50psi.

I pumped them up to 100psi (im around 65kg), but when I unscrew the pump out there is a noise of air coming out, and when attaching again, it shows up as lower than I left it.

Also, what is the black button for? And what is the correct way of adjusting pressure without air coming out?

Tried searching on google but it only came up with places to buy the pumps!

Thanks!

Comments

• ben-1888
    ben-1888 Posts: 59
    iv just got air shocks aswell with what sounds like the same pump... i am no expert but think u should pump past what u are wanting then usin the black button let some air out and drop down to your desired pressure. thats what i do anyway... but im similair weight as you and i was advised to have about 130psi or there abouts on pos and neg... but i dont no much about that to be honest. as for the air escaping when you takr the pump off just add a little extra before removing. Hope this helps!
  • Common schoolboy error :D

When you disconnect the pump, what you hear is the pressurised air escaping from the pump hose. So long as you unscrew it quickly the valve will seal the shock pressure chamber with no significant loss of air - any loss will be approximately the same each time anyway, so if the bike rides well with the pump reading 100psi that's all you need to know, it doesn't actually matter what the exact value is. Too soft add more, too hard set less next time...

The reason the gauge always reads low on reconnection is that air from the pressure chamber has had to fill the pumps hose. Since the pressure chamber is very small this loss has a significant effect on the pressure.

Bottom line is that you cannot "check" the pressure on a fork or shock - you have to pump it up every time.

Alaric.