rear shock sizes - mongoose otero

seb1188
seb1188 Posts: 16
edited March 2009 in MTB general
Hi,

How important is it to get the same eye to eye size in a new rear shock?

I am considering getting a Mongoose Otero, either Elite or Super, but either way I'd replace the rear shock with one that comes with lock out or pro pedal. They told me 6.5x1.5 (inches), but can I get away with a little more? And what's all this adjustable travel nonsense with the Otero: Heat treated 6000 series alloy frame QR adjustable travel 2.5-4.4"? How can the travel be higher than the stroke length?

Sorry, I'm new to all of this.

Thanks...

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    it is very important.

and easily as the rear is a suspension linkage and not a fork. IE it is not linear.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • seb1188
    Thanks for replying. That seriously limits the range of shocks I can stick on it then...
  • seb1188
    What about the difference between coil and air shocks? On a coil of the same eye to eye length, would you get a longer stroke? Is that beneficial?
  • Daz555
    Daz555 Posts: 3,976
    I'd seriously reconsider the Otero if I were you. It is too cheap for a full susser and at that money a hardtail would be much much better.

I looked at the Otero and thought very little of it.

For me, assuming RRP, the cheapest decent full susser available is the Boardman FS range which starts at £800.
    You only need two tools: WD40 and Duck Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use the WD40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the tape.
  • seb1188