Absolute Beginner after advice

willows
willows Posts: 3
edited March 2009 in Road beginners
Hi :)
I've just bought a bike with the ultimate intention of cycling to work (it's roughly 7 miles each way).
However, I am very unfit and a couple of stones overweight. I haven't cycled in years and want to build my fitness up before I start commuting on the bike. At the moment, I don't do any proper exercise either so when I say unfit, I really mean it :wink:
Can anyone point me in the direction of a good programme I could follow that would help me work up towards my commute distance?

What sort of time should I be aiming to do this commute in? At the moment, it takes me about 25 - 40 mins to drive to work depending on traffic.

Any advice is appreciated.

Comments

• LeighB
    LeighB Posts: 326
    I am not sure if any specific training programs exist but my advice would be to start off with a few short rides and just keep gradually increasing the distance. Rule of thumb is don’t exceed your longest distance by more than 10% and remember to rest . The importance of rest is often neglected, to get stronger we are using our muscles and this breaks them down; rest lets the tissues repair and grow back stronger (I’m not too scientific but its something like that). The biggest mistake I have made is not taking a basic tool kit to repair a puncture and having to walk miles home (this was pre mobile phones), I now take a mobile and a few pounds for emergency pies/cakes/sandwiches/drinks. Regarding the time issue I would see what time it takes for you to cover the distance and set off to work in plenty of time so you allow for problems that can arise i.e. punctures.
  • careful
    careful Posts: 720