Boardman Comp Road or Orbea Enol

zootsuit
zootsuit Posts: 2
edited March 2009 in Road beginners
Hi There

Im just about to buy my first road bike (budget £550) and have narrowed my choice down to 2 - a Boardman Road Comp and an Orbea Enol.

The situation is Ive taken a 57cm Orbea for a test ride from my LBH who are very good, and it felt great, even though i'm new to road bikes. The 2200 groupset drivetrain did feel a bit clunky but worked well enough . First question -most bikes in this price bracket have Sora, is there a big difference?

My local Halfords also has a Boardman Road Comp 09, which is reduced by £150 due to a few minor scratches, to the same price as the Orbea. The group set this is Tiagra/105 , Truative GXP chainset and the wheelset is also Ritchey Pro, which seems to be much better specced than the Orbea's 2200 hub/Kronos rim wheelset.

As they are the same price my immediate reaction would be to go for the higher specced Boardman. However Halfords would not let me take it for proper test ride, only round the carpark. Its a slightly bigger frame - 57.5 and the top top is 58.5, 1.5cm longer than the Orbea. It felt fine and th egear changes felt a lot smoother but didnt really have a chance to really test it properly and Im worried this small difference will make it harder to ride longer distances

So, Im wondering should I go for the slightly smaller Orbea I know fits well and sacrifice the components or take a risk and go with the Boardman. As a commuter will I really notice the difference in quality, willI be replacing parts twice as much on the Orbea? Overall I prefer the appearance of the Orbea, and although the spec is slightly lower I wonder whether this is too my advantage as it looks less 'flash' its less likely to get knicked when locked up around town?! Onthe other hand fitting a shorter stem and lowering the seat a little on the Boardman may give me a similar ride! Halfords are quite adamant I cant take it out the store for a proper test!