which bike?

Daniel23
Daniel23 Posts: 75
edited February 2009 in MTB buying advice
I am about to buy a bike guys ... narrowed it down to thease two.... (i think lol)

any advice on what one o go for I would really appreciate it.. cheers

http://www.marin.co.uk/2009/bikedetail. ... No=3943-1F

http://www.richardsonsonline.co.uk/cycl ... Blast%2009
The New Guy

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    do you like a low bb or a normal ish one?

go test ride.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • mate i am a novice, rode them both... both seem great.. just want other folks opinions...t hanks :D
    The New Guy
  • any more info on this.....?
    The New Guy
  • Vivid
    Vivid Posts: 267
    Have you considered the Carrera Fury?

One of the difference's compared to the two you listed are the tora forks which are far better than the darts.

I would go into more detail however i need to shoot.
  • I understand that the forks on the kona are better than the forks on the marin... but the marin has a better set of brakes, and a life time warrenty on frame, also you get 6 free services with the marin.. but the kona looks shit hot too.

The guy in the bike shop said stay away from carrera... said they are shit bikes with sexy parts!

any more advice would be great.
    The New Guy
  • xtreem
    xtreem Posts: 2,965
    edited January 2009
    You want my opinion?

If I can aquire/save around £100 in a short time to upgrade the forks on the Marin then
    I would go for it. That's because the Dart 1 is horrific, very bouncy, so offroad your won't
    be abe to use the whole power of the hydro brakes. The front wheel won't have
    constant contract with the ground.

But if you're not keen on upgrading the bike then I would go for the Kona.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The guy in your bike shop is talking crap!