Corner speed question..........

Gav888
Gav888 Posts: 946
edited December 2008 in Workshop
Hi,

Im new to road biking so I have little knowledge of tires, but im wondering what sort of tires are used in these video's to give the level of grip and speed in the corners, as those speeds look very high in places - for a road bike.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRxia2XSpt8
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=HJoqtnizklA&NR=1

I would think things like compound / tread / size / PSI would have an effect on the corner speeds and grip, but to what extent on a road bike, is there alot of difference between the different makes of tires? Im used to motorcycling and the right tires make a big difference.

Also, how do you know when your tires are about to stop gripping, is there a feeling you get, or is there no warning?
Cycling never gets any easier, you just go faster - Greg LeMond

Comments

• softlad
    softlad Posts: 3,513
    sliding down the road on your arse is a sure sign that your tyres have stopped gripping.. ;)

Seriously, its difficult to know where to begin. All I can resaonably suggest is that you have a look around the sites of a few manufacturers like Vittoria, Michelin, Schwalbe or Continental and read up on a few of the tyre types, compounds, etc. A lot of it is down to presonal preference, but if you have a specific type of riding in mind, I'm sure people will be able to suggest a few good tyres for starters...
  • Gav888
    Thanks for the reply softlad.

At present I have no specific type of riding, im just trying to build my fitness and speed levels at present as im rather unfit so I will stick with whats on the bike. But come Spring / Summer when its warmer I would like to take on some nice smooth twisty roads with some good downhill sections, so grip, speed and being able to maintain a good corner speed become important to me.

Some recommendations would be great. Unsure about the price, does £50 or so sound reasonable for good tires?