creaking from bottom bracket help??

Terminator-X
Terminator-X Posts: 37
edited January 2010 in Workshop
i was out on my planet x pro carbon road bike yesterday when i noticed that when i stood out of the saddle there was a creaking coming from the bottom bracket section doesany one know what might have caused this or how to fix it????

Comments

• Cheshley
    Cheshley Posts: 1,448
    While I'm no expert, when this has happened to me removing the cranks and stripping the BB out, cleaning the threads, a light re-greasing and refitting usually does the trick, if this doesn't work then it may mean a new BB but strip it out and clean it up first.
    1998 Marin Hawk Hill
    2008 Specialized FSR XC Comp
    2008 Scott Speedster S30 FB

SLOW RIDES FOR UNFIT PEOPLE - Find us on Facebook or in the MTB Rides section of this forum.
  • giant_man
    giant_man Posts: 6,878
    Could well be just a bit dry as Chesley says. My record bb has gone but I'm still riding on it. They all vary but yours doesn't sound very old to go so soon, it being a PX pro carbon and all.
  • blorg
    blorg Posts: 1,169
    Probably what Cheshley said but bear in mind the creaking that seems to come from the bottom bracket can have a myriad of causes- it _might_ not be the bottom bracket! Also check cleats, pedals and cranks at the least.
  • mekonta
    mekonta Posts: 58
    Probably what Cheshley said but bear in mind the creaking that seems to come from the bottom bracket can have a myriad of causes- it _might_ not be the bottom bracket! Also check cleats, pedals and cranks at the least.

Over the years I've found most 'bottom bracket' creaking has been caused by other things. My favourite fix to a noisy BB was putting a bit of grease on the fork dropouts and cranking the QR a bit tighter.