Clipless pedals

tomsapples2000
tomsapples2000 Posts: 20
edited June 2008 in MTB buying advice
I've never used clipless pedals before, on those long climbs I often think to myself "How much extra juice would I be getting if I went clipless" so perhaps it's time to bridge that gap.

I've only got the one bike, so I'd like pedals that could be used with normal shoes for short journeys, and if possible a pedal that would still be alright to ride on unclipped if things are getting a bit hairy, but most of my biking is over fairly manageable terrain.

I've looked at the Shimano double sided ones where one side has the binding, the other side is a rat trap style pedal, but there seemed to be a lot of complaints about always getting the wrong side.

I have however seen these:

http://www.merlincycles.co.uk/?fn=produ ... egoryId=81

Where it specifically says 'can be used with normal shoes' but reviews are torn as to whether it's a good idea or not. Can anyone provide me with some more advice?

Thanks for any help!

Comments

• Or these, which seem to be equivalents only resin rather than metal:

http://www.winstanleysbikes.co.uk/produ ... edals_M424
  • Ciaran500
    Ciaran500 Posts: 348
    Or these, which seem to be equivalents only resin rather than metal:

http://www.winstanleysbikes.co.uk/produ ... edals_M424
    Remember reading a few impressions of those on forums, most people had trouble with the cage cracking/falling off after a rock strike. If you want pedals with a cage I'd spend a bit more money.
  • Big Red S
    Big Red S Posts: 26,890
    With the caged-spd pedals you've got to bear in mind that they're only designed for SPDs.

You *can* ride them with normal shoes, and it is substantially easier than on 'pure' spd pedals, but it's still a pain. The binding mechanism is always protruding above the cage, and the cage itself isn't really designed for grip in the same way a normal caged pedal cage is.
  • GibboGT
    GibboGT Posts: 287