Is prolonged high HR exercise bad?

sian_c
sian_c Posts: 101
I'm fairly new to this cycling game, but am trying to train up for doing the End to End in August. I have a fairly stressful and time-consuming job, so I don't get out on the bike perhaps as much as I'd like, but I'm trying!

I'd like to think that I'm not totally unfit, although my cardio-vascular fitness is certainly not great. I am naturally a lean build, and so don't have much body fat, but I also find it difficult to put on muscle. When I'm out on rides, even though the terrain is never that challenging (I live in Norfolk!) I find that within a very short time my HR has already rocketed to about 165 (resting ~50, max. 200??), usually not dropping below 172 a couple of hours in. It doesn't leave me feeling uncomfortable, but I'm concerned that I'm doing something wrong if it's always up that high. I don't feel like I can afford to go at a much slower pace or else I'd be going backwards :lol:

So I was just wondering if anyone had any advice on this? And what does it mean if you're doing prolonged exercise in your anaerobic zone?

Comments

• Alex_Simmons/RST
    Alex_Simmons/RST Posts: 4,161
    sian_c wrote:
    I'm fairly new to this cycling game, but am trying to train up for doing the End to End in August. I have a fairly stressful and time-consuming job, so I don't get out on the bike perhaps as much as I'd like, but I'm trying!