Can i take my XC bike downhill?

pittpony
pittpony Posts: 1,057
edited October 2007 in XC and Enduro
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum so hello! Its great to see so many enthusiasts happy to give advice :)

Which leads me on to my question... I'm pretty new to biking and am going to be doing some downhill riding next week (Cannock Chase red run, apparently). Anyway i'm a bit concerned whether my bike will be OK for it. It's a Giant XTC Composite 3 hardtail (2007 if that makes a difference) which i usually use on the road or for light offroad. I know its a XC bike and don't want to come back with a bike in 2 pieces if i can avoid it upfront!!

Any advice on this would be great, whether it's "of course you can use it you numpty" or "don't be daft you fool"

Cheers guys :)

Nick

Comments

• Sir HC
    Sir HC Posts: 20,148
    You can use it, just be careful.
    Intense Socom
    Inbred
  • ddoogie
    ddoogie Posts: 4,159
    If you restrain yourself to not doing any big drops you should be fine. Its not going to be a very fast run though!
    S-works Stumpjumper FSR

I'll see you at the end.

You'll see me on the floor.
  • i take my Gt Aggressor downhill quite a bit, and always worry its going to snap the frame as well. anyway, after 3 months of it, its holding up fine.
    ddoogie wrote:
    If you restrain yourself to not doing any big drops you should be fine. Its not going to be a very fast run though!

how big is a big drop?
  • Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    Composite=carbon frame?

I'd not take it over 2ft drops, less if you're not a graceful smooth rider.
    2385861000_d125abe796_m.jpg
  • pittpony
    Yeah its a carbon frame which is what i'm concerned about. I bought it to be quick on the way to work but am thinking about pinching my girlfriend's bike for the downhill instead!
  • Aux1
    Aux1 Posts: 865