Pedal Issue

GOONERUK
GOONERUK Posts: 18
edited September 2007 in MTB general
Hi All,
Newbie here....Just purchaced a new Specialized Hardrock Sport '07 with Hydraulic brakes.....was wondering about pedals, im not going to buy clip pedals but was going to just put straps on, can you still buy these? i have them on my old Hardrock, not sure if its teh done thing these days. Cheers

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    yes you can still get them but why? they are dangerous.

flats or spd's
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • GOONERUK
    nicklouse wrote:
    yes you can still get them but why? they are dangerous.

flats or spd's

why are they dangerous, i used them for years on my old bike, never had a problem
  • Takes more time to bail out if needs be
  • nicklouse
    ok so you are just riding tow paths?

i used to find them a real pain and dangerous when riding my old bikes. if you want the strapped in feel go SPD and you will wonder why you were asking about straps.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
  • God, I used to have straps - had so many stacks it was unreal :o

I would just get a good set of grippy flats tbh
  • Clips and straps... that takes me back.

If you are used to clips and straps, you should definitely switch to clipless. Once you're used to the different exit action you'll find it's both easier and quicker to get out.

There's a reason why clipless took over in mountain biking even faster than it did on the road.
    John Stevenson
  • Do it!!! get clipless pedals. They'll improvce your riding too. Toe clips are just asking for trouble.
  • steelo
    steelo Posts: 542
    Why are toe-clips so dangerous?

I've always used toe-clips without straps, so just to use them to help locate my feet in the correct position on the pedals.