HS2 - good thing or bad thing?

2»

Comments

• beverick
    beverick Posts: 3,461
    jds_1981 wrote:
    Chadders81 wrote:
    Ticket prices will find their market level. Anybody who suggests otherwise is dim as shoot.

Market will be based on business people expensing though...
    Nor is it a exactly a free market when you've only got two mainlines heading to Birmingham from London.

...and there's the DfT thinking that they control rail fares. Best tell Justine Greening.

Bob
  • secretsam
    secretsam Posts: 5,105
    Chadders81 wrote:
    I've covered this story as a journalist...Ticket prices will find their market level. Anybody who suggests otherwise is dim as shoot.

I have a degree in Economics. There is no "market" for ticket prices, as the railways are a set of regulated local monopolies - trains don't compete on the same tracks, on the whole. So for most people there is no 'choice' between providers and therefore no market. So actually what you say is as dim as shoot...

Train prices in this country (and in most others) are set at what is required to fill the gap between subsidy and cost. Trains are expensive and, on the whole, don't pay for themselves. In other European countries, trains are subsidised more than in the UK, so tickets are cheaper. In the UK, it's the users who pay. Tickets are perceived as pricey so people don't use the trains. The times when I've been on a train and it's been packed (excepting commuter trains, which HS2 is not going to provide), it's been full of suits working on laptops, not regular folks.

It's just a hill. Get over it.
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 73,083
    SecretSam wrote:
    Chadders81 wrote:
    I've covered this story as a journalist...Ticket prices will find their market level. Anybody who suggests otherwise is dim as shoot.